Windows Not Working? DIY: Master Window Switch Fix!! - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > DIYs

DIYs These threads contain answers to common topics. "Do it yourself" modifications are also archived here.

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-02, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Jordan. MN
Posts: 117


Car 1: 1992 Pearl White Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Windows Not Working? DIY: Master Window Switch Fix!!

If the switch (on/off) on the lower part of the master switch fell off all you need to do is stuff some tin foil in it and it will complete the circuit and all the windows will work again. Sounds crazy but it is true!

Here is mine...


That is stuffed with tin foil inside with the switch removed and covered with a piece or cardboard with black tape on it for a nicer look!


Here is how you do it...

(1) Remove the on/off switch unless it already fell off like mine.

(2) Stuff tin foil in tightly where the below graphic shows.


(3) Dress up as appropriate, the foil needs to be tight in there and could come loose occasionaly so don't over do it too much.

I used a metal bracket to pressure the foil in and it hasn't come undone in about 8 months.

-Ben
Ben Hedrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-02, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brooklyn, New York and Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 9


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Smile Window switch

That is a good idea.
I just picked up one from ebay, and I am going to try and change it this weekend. Does anyone know where I can go and find directions on how to remove the door an replace the switch.
Also, I am going to need to remove the old wood trim and put on the new master switch. Does anyone know how to remove it?
__________________
Who God bless, no man curse
Bklyknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-02, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
I Like My Diet
 
KNLNGUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Virgina
Posts: 744


Car 1: 95 6spd coupe


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ben - After my skirt "helped" me lexol the door panels... she tells me to close my eyes and put out my hand. Well, I feel this little plastic piece in my hand. She~ite if that piece was the ON/OFF switch.

I want to thank you for posting your fix and compliment you on it as well (aesthetically). Can you phuleeze describe your "bracket" you used to hold the foil in - and also is the bracket what I see in your pic

http://www.uwec.edu/Student/pgd/ben/...sterswitch.jpg

cause it looks like film covering the hole or at bare minimum, what ever is covering the hole appears flush with the trim. I just want to do as good of a job as you did.

KNLNGUS
KNLNGUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-02, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Jordan. MN
Posts: 117


Car 1: 1992 Pearl White Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ok

What you see is a piece of cardboard with black electrical tappe on it. Under that my "bracket" is a piece of metal that I bent like this:

_____
|
|
|
|
|
---------

The take both short sides and bend them in to hold on to the inner button holder. Basically all the bracket does is continue to pressure the foil in, it can be done any way you can think of. You could glue it but sometimes the foil may come loose and glue woudl make it harder to fix if that happened.

-Ben
Ben Hedrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-03, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX - Austin, TX
Posts: 1,357


Car 1: 1991 Artic White LS Sedan
Car 2: 2003 Acura TL Type-S
Car 3: 1974 Black Elephant


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to LEGENDarith Send a message via AIM to LEGENDarith Send a message via Yahoo to LEGENDarith
YES! This is great! This beats my current idea of jamming paper in there. I had it for about a year and a half, but it looks horrible. Nice innovation.
__________________
http://www.doitdarith.com/legend/legend.gif
http://www.acuralegend.com/images/acuralegendnew.gif
2nd Generation FAQ...Click here
She Hass big ones

2003 Acura TL Type-S Silver/Black 25k Miles
LEGENDarith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-03, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
www[dot]****************
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
If my windows arent working at all except the drivers and the mechanic said I need a new master switch, would this be a decent thing to try just in case it is just a loose connection in the "on/off" switch?
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-03, 11:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
AKA Smartjay28
 
Johnny Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Brunswick, NJ 732
Posts: 5,671


Car 1: JDM KA7
Car 2: w203


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Johnny Kim Send a message via Yahoo to Johnny Kim
did this a while back..lol...was hopeing there is a diff way
__________________
Quote:
yes im in....whose dis jonny kim fella how i find him imma try a search now
Johnny Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: northern VA
Posts: 3


Car 1: 94 Legend LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
window master switch problem

I just bought a legend and noticed that only the F/D window worked but no others. So i figured it was a bad switch. I took of the panel and armrest and pulled out the switch. Checked all the switches for continuity thanks to my 15.00 haynes manual all tested fine including the child-safety switch. I then tested the motor of my F/P window and it worked and rolled up. So i knew it was definitely a bad wire. I presumed a bad ground maybe. I then took the black wire (ground) that is the brown connector that plugs into the switch and grounded to the door and voila everything worked. I was going to trace the wire to underneath the dash and fix the ground but i ended up scraping some paint and grounding it to the drivers side door.

Hope this helps anyone. If you have any questions email me here: joshclute@verizon.net
jclute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
asianlegend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 1,048


Car 1: 2007 Volvo XC90 V8
Car 2: 2003 MR2 Spyder


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to asianlegend Send a message via Yahoo to asianlegend
I think what you are referring to is different than what the original thread speaks about.

The folks earlier in this thread had a problem with the auto-down feature on the master window switch. In plain English, it wasn't going down with one-touch, but going down like any other window (i.e. you hold it until it goes down to the determined location of your choice). So, determined members found a quick, easy, and temporary way to fix the overly expensive and hard-to-find in good shape option of replacing the entire switch module.

What you describe sounds like a general issue with the switches, not specifically the auto-down feature. Thanks for the advice anyways, I'm sure it'll help others that are suffering the same problems.
asianlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA Smartjay28
 
Johnny Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Brunswick, NJ 732
Posts: 5,671


Car 1: JDM KA7
Car 2: w203


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Johnny Kim Send a message via Yahoo to Johnny Kim
Quote:
Originally posted by asianlegend
I think what you are referring to is different than what the original thread speaks about.

The folks earlier in this thread had a problem with the auto-down feature on the master window switch. In plain English, it wasn't going down with one-touch, but going down like any other window (i.e. you hold it until it goes down to the determined location of your choice). So, determined members found a quick, easy, and temporary way to fix the overly expensive and hard-to-find in good shape option of replacing the entire switch module.

What you describe sounds like a general issue with the switches, not specifically the auto-down feature. Thanks for the advice anyways, I'm sure it'll help others that are suffering the same problems.
acualy, its not the one-touch repair. its the child safty switch,preventing other windows beside the drives to 'lock'
i wonder if theres a repair for the one touch...
__________________
Quote:
yes im in....whose dis jonny kim fella how i find him imma try a search now
Johnny Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 02:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
asianlegend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 1,048


Car 1: 2007 Volvo XC90 V8
Car 2: 2003 MR2 Spyder


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to asianlegend Send a message via Yahoo to asianlegend
Quote:
Originally posted by smartjay28
acualy, its not the one-touch repair. its the child safty switch,preventing other windows beside the drives to 'lock'
i wonder if theres a repair for the one touch...
I stand corrected. Thanks. But, it sure sounded like the auto-down fix, I could've sworn I saw one just like this one mentioned here. Oh well, it's been a long time since I've had one ... oh well!
asianlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-04, 07:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 2


Car 1: 1993 Champagne Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Master Window Switch

Question...with the Master Window Switch my driver side (Auto) is working great the other three switches/windows is not.

If I understand you correctly... the ON/OFF switch is the common switch to the other switches/windows and that is where the aluminum foil is to be placed or do I have a different problem from the one you are describing.

Please advise.

r/gco
grovero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-04, 02:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 38


Car 1: 94 Legend Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Your tin foil fix is easier than mine....since you don't have to remove the door panel which is kind of a pain.

I removed the door panel and switch and soldered a jumper wire between the contacts. I had to grind down the edges to the on/off switch receptacle with a Dremel tool to be able to do the soldering.

After I reinstalled the switch and door panel. I covered the hole with a piece of sticky backed Velcro...the soft side....looks fine...a little quicker/easier fix than your little frame, cardboard and tape
warren C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-04, 05:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Bernardino HoLdinG it Down RepReseNtinG da 951 & 909 DonT Be HatIng F*$# all yah OnLIne TraSh TaLkers IMPORT FAN rice it OUt or white it ouT
Posts: 618


Car 1: I"m a white Man!


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to phan_nam420
Post

OK, i'm not sure if its the motor, or windo it self. But the F/D and the F/P windows are moving at a very very slow motion when i'm putting it up or down.

One thing i noticed, when ever i spray water on the windows for about 2 minutes or so, ( like washing my car ), and i tried putting the windows up or sown, it'd mov'd fast. So if you could help me with this it'd be great. I'll try to post pictures of my car windows soon.


Also another problem i'm having is the R/D side window. It'll go down, but wont go back up. IF i'm lucky, it'll go up. But when it did go up, i never put it down, because it wont go back up. SO i'm not sure if its the window motor, the switch or bad connections.

Thanks again!
phan_nam420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-05, 11:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 2


Car 1: 91 Taupe Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
2 Summers Gone...

without my fluckin windows working other than the drivers side and the sun roof...my friends couldn't stand riding with me...who knew it would only take about a minute to resolve...i am far from mechanical...i love these simple solutions...owner of the pearly white: thanks.
speardawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > DIYs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© AutoGuide