oxygen sensor - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > First Generation Legend (1986-1990)

First Generation Legend (1986-1990) Discuss the 1st Generation Honda/Acura Legend (US 8

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-11, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
oxygen sensor

Hey guys, wondering if anyone has any idea why this happened. i have a 90 legend L and it was running fine but It was throwing a 1 code, front oxygen sensor. So i put in a new bosch oem replacement sensor and fired it up. Now its revving real high and throwing an 8 code. TDC sensor. Now i just replaced that about 2 years ago, and it wasnt acting up until the oxygen sensor got replaced so im pretty sure thats not the problem.
Any thoughts what it could be??
I appreciate any advice!!
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-11, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: here
Posts: 6


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
test TDC sensor for the code and see if adjusting the throttle will change higher revs. the idle could have been adjusted for the bad O2 sensor.
0(#^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
FRISCO LEGEND BABY!!!!
Bullseye Blaster 2 Champion, Bean Hunter Champion, Clover Crunch Champion, Fight Man Champion, Fishing Impossible Champion, Frantic Killer Champion, Froggster Champion
 
l4zy415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Posts: 9,268


Car 1: 1988 Acura Legend Sedan


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to l4zy415 Send a message via MSN to l4zy415
Bosch O2 sensors are garbage for the G1. When you replaced the O2, did you reset the ECU by removing the alternator fuse in the Engine Bay?
__________________

17" DRAG DR-11 Rims/\Matador Red Paint/\Custom CAI/\LED Bright White Dash Lights/\Kenwood KDC-X590 Excelon Mp3 Deck/\Ford Taurus Coin/Cup Holder/\2 12" Kickers/\1800 Watt Kenwood Mono Amp/\Power Acoustic Capacitor/\Clear Rear Turn Signal/\Reverse Glow Gauges/\Swapped 88' Headlights to 89'-90'/\Swapped 88' seats to 89'/\JDM Rear Chrome Trim/\JDM Clear Corner/\JDM Power Folding-Heated Mirrors/\Stromung Muffler
l4zy415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
im not sure

what u mean by testing the TDC sensor. I put it in 2 years ago and never had a problem until after i replaced the 02 and started it up.

I did pull the alt fuse but i could try disconnecting the bat maybe that will work
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
check engine light now on as well...wasnt on before the 02 change
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-11, 02:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
FRISCO LEGEND BABY!!!!
Bullseye Blaster 2 Champion, Bean Hunter Champion, Clover Crunch Champion, Fight Man Champion, Fishing Impossible Champion, Frantic Killer Champion, Froggster Champion
 
l4zy415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Posts: 9,268


Car 1: 1988 Acura Legend Sedan


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to l4zy415 Send a message via MSN to l4zy415
Check your ECU again for codes.
__________________

17" DRAG DR-11 Rims/\Matador Red Paint/\Custom CAI/\LED Bright White Dash Lights/\Kenwood KDC-X590 Excelon Mp3 Deck/\Ford Taurus Coin/Cup Holder/\2 12" Kickers/\1800 Watt Kenwood Mono Amp/\Power Acoustic Capacitor/\Clear Rear Turn Signal/\Reverse Glow Gauges/\Swapped 88' Headlights to 89'-90'/\Swapped 88' seats to 89'/\JDM Rear Chrome Trim/\JDM Clear Corner/\JDM Power Folding-Heated Mirrors/\Stromung Muffler
l4zy415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-11, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: here
Posts: 6


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
what i mean is get the FSM and test the sensor.

then try adjusting your idle screw.
0(#^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-11, 09:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
ECU still 8 flashes since changing the O2 sensor. Engine light on too. Running high idle then dies down, then revs up high again and keeps repeating.
This thing ran great before the O2 change, just changed it to pass smog and only because one flash (O2 sensor) on ECU wouldnt let me pass. TDC sensor only 2 years old, working great...definately shouldnt have gone bad just like that because i changed the O2 sensor...
Just weird man
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-11, 03:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
FRISCO LEGEND BABY!!!!
Bullseye Blaster 2 Champion, Bean Hunter Champion, Clover Crunch Champion, Fight Man Champion, Fishing Impossible Champion, Frantic Killer Champion, Froggster Champion
 
l4zy415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Posts: 9,268


Car 1: 1988 Acura Legend Sedan


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to l4zy415 Send a message via MSN to l4zy415
Might want to change the O2 to NGK. For the code 8, make sure the plug to the dizzy is plugged in, or else you'll just have to end up replacing it again.
__________________

17" DRAG DR-11 Rims/\Matador Red Paint/\Custom CAI/\LED Bright White Dash Lights/\Kenwood KDC-X590 Excelon Mp3 Deck/\Ford Taurus Coin/Cup Holder/\2 12" Kickers/\1800 Watt Kenwood Mono Amp/\Power Acoustic Capacitor/\Clear Rear Turn Signal/\Reverse Glow Gauges/\Swapped 88' Headlights to 89'-90'/\Swapped 88' seats to 89'/\JDM Rear Chrome Trim/\JDM Clear Corner/\JDM Power Folding-Heated Mirrors/\Stromung Muffler
l4zy415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-11, 10:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I ordered up a NGK O2. What the hell's a dizzy? distributer maybe? never heard that before...anyway ill post back when i get the new 02 in...thanks for your help
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-11, 04:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
GI Joe Scuba Sweep Champion
 
Ophidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Everett, WA. USA
Posts: 1,520


Car 1: 90 LS Coupe 5speed


iTrader Score: 11 reviews
Dizzy = distributor, yes.
__________________

Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-11, 05:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 4


Car 1: 1990 Acura Legend LS Sedan
Car 2: 1990 Acura Legend LS
Car 3: 1982 DeLorean


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can someone please post pictures of where the O2 sensors are located? I can't find them on the workshop manual as the manuals provided online seem incomplete.

Thanks,
T.
cleandmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-11, 07:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
FRISCO LEGEND BABY!!!!
Bullseye Blaster 2 Champion, Bean Hunter Champion, Clover Crunch Champion, Fight Man Champion, Fishing Impossible Champion, Frantic Killer Champion, Froggster Champion
 
l4zy415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Posts: 9,268


Car 1: 1988 Acura Legend Sedan


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to l4zy415 Send a message via MSN to l4zy415
There are 2 sensors, one in the front and rear. If you look at the header, follow it down till you see a single wire that goes to the O2 sensor.
__________________

17" DRAG DR-11 Rims/\Matador Red Paint/\Custom CAI/\LED Bright White Dash Lights/\Kenwood KDC-X590 Excelon Mp3 Deck/\Ford Taurus Coin/Cup Holder/\2 12" Kickers/\1800 Watt Kenwood Mono Amp/\Power Acoustic Capacitor/\Clear Rear Turn Signal/\Reverse Glow Gauges/\Swapped 88' Headlights to 89'-90'/\Swapped 88' seats to 89'/\JDM Rear Chrome Trim/\JDM Clear Corner/\JDM Power Folding-Heated Mirrors/\Stromung Muffler
l4zy415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-11, 09:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: texas
Posts: 23


Car 1: 1990 acura legend L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey you guys... i replaced the sensor with the one you suggested. The revving up and down is gone now and so are the lights on the computer. But its still staying high in park all the time...about 1500rpm warmed up, about 1100-1200 in gear and sitting still.
Ive never adjusted the idle on it and have had the car since new. Could it have adjusted it self due to the bad 02?
Any ideas would be geat... and where the heck is the idle adjustment???

Thanks
rich06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > First Generation Legend (1986-1990)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© AutoGuide