Steering Wheel Volume Control Not Working But Audio Select Button Does Work - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)

Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-09, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bronx
Posts: 6


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend Coupe LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Steering Wheel Volume Control Not Working But Audio Select Button Does Work

Hello, I have a 1991 Legend Coupe LS and my volume up and down controls on the steering wheel wont work, but the audio select button on the same control piece does work. Ive tried replacing the control with one from another legend, and I get the same problem. The radio is a stock Bose radio and I have a CD changer in the trunk from a different Acura. If anyone can give me some thoughts it would be greatly appreciated.

Jocman
Jocman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-09, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Lawn Pac Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newark
Posts: 1,269


Car 1: 1994 Acura Legend TypeII Sedan
Car 2: 93 TypeII Legend Cpe


iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Things to look at

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocman View Post
Hello, I have a 1991 Legend Coupe LS and my volume up and down controls on the steering wheel wont work, but the audio select button on the same control piece does work. Ive tried replacing the control with one from another legend, and I get the same problem. The radio is a stock Bose radio and I have a CD changer in the trunk from a different Acura. If anyone can give me some thoughts it would be greatly appreciated.

Jocman
Remove the headunit Take out the plugs from the back of it and put them back in,check to see if that works.If not look at the wire for breaks the light blue wire connects the steering wheel controls to the radio.All that fails replace the radio with another oem unit and try it then.I would say the headunit is whats bad.
TYPEIIGHOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 51


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I experienced the same but I have a sedan. There was a wire that looks like a coax under the the dash behind the cluster near the steering column. It may have been kicked loose.
tenk otomubay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Lawn Pac Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Newark
Posts: 1,269


Car 1: 1994 Acura Legend TypeII Sedan
Car 2: 93 TypeII Legend Cpe


iTrader Score: 5 reviews
I see what u saying

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenk otomubay View Post
I experienced the same but I have a sedan. There was a wire that looks like a coax under the the dash behind the cluster near the steering column. It may have been kicked loose.
But it doesent seem likely cuz he said hes still has use of the station switcher and track changer button on the steering wheel control to the radio.And he changed switches and still the same.If wire was loose wouldent he lose all funtions of the steering wheel control?
TYPEIIGHOST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 12:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Loser
 
Gromit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, Cali
Posts: 115


Car 1: '94 Black on Black KA7
Car 2: '73 Fuji Racer Fixie


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Anyone know if you can hook the steering wheel volume control up to an aftermarket (Pioneer) head unit?
Gromit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,549


Car 1: 2004 Honda Element EX AWD 5MT
Car 2: 1994 Acura Legend GS


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gromit View Post
Anyone know if you can hook the steering wheel volume control up to an aftermarket (Pioneer) head unit?
you can do it...there is an adapter you need to buy...i dont know what its called tho sorry
MondiVTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 51


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYPEIIGHOST View Post
But it doesent seem likely cuz he said hes still has use of the station switcher and track changer button on the steering wheel control to the radio.And he changed switches and still the same.If wire was loose wouldent he lose all funtions of the steering wheel control?
That makes sense. It's been awhile but I think I only lost the volume control too. Won't hurt to check. I do recall the connector to be a non locking type.


Volume Control Problem

Last edited by tenk otomubay; 03-20-09 at 01:21 PM. Reason: additional treads on topic
tenk otomubay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 683


Car 1: 1989 Cadillac Deville
Car 2: 1992 Acura Legend LS
Car 3: 93 legend (parting)


iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gromit View Post
Anyone know if you can hook the steering wheel volume control up to an aftermarket (Pioneer) head unit?
It called pac-swipes for pioneer which I got and beware that all afapters have a delay when pressing and this one is a wire intenna so u should see if this fit first
__________________
Mods
Pioneer Rear Speakers ~ JL Audio Front Speakers~ Pioneer HeadUnit ~ DDM 6K HIDs ~ Optima RedTop

Updated pics of parts im selling
http://www.flickr.com/photos/36337072@N08/
BklynSoulja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
makes his putts....
 
DevanTheDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 693


Car 1: 91LS Coupe w/ typeII swap
Car 2: 1966 Mustang
Car 3: 06 GTI 2.0 turbo


iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Easy fix guys. The little motor inside the radio that turns the volume knob gets dirty after some time. Take your middle finger and flick the Bose volume knob. Flick it, then test. Flick, then test. I know it sounds crazy, but it works. All your doing is knocking the small particles of dirt loose....
__________________
DevanTheDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 52


Car 1: '93 Acura Legend LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You're right...

pretty easy fix, but it does sound crazy...LMAO! *crossing fingers* Hope it works for the OP.
chuckymadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 08:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bronx
Posts: 6


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend Coupe LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ok, I tried the finger flick thing with the volume control knob on the radio and all that did was probably brake my radio. I looked under the dash by the steering column and found a large wire, with the same connection as the CD changer wire, mounted vertically pointing down and it had nothing attached to it. There does not appear to be another wire to connect to it, so what is that wire for? I have also been looking through other threads and I came across one that is missing a bunch of posts by a user named MikeD. This thread seems to help fix a wiring problem, but all the info was in the MikeD posts. Does anyone know if that information is available anywhere else? Here is a link to the post:
found out my steering radio control wiring has failed

JocMan
Jocman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 09:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
91LSplendid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,665


Car 1: 1991 Legend LS Sedan
Car 2: 2008 Grand Caravan


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
The Flick Trick Does Work

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevanTheDude View Post
Easy fix guys. The little motor inside the radio that turns the volume knob gets dirty after some time. Take your middle finger and flick the Bose volume knob. Flick it, then test. Flick, then test. I know it sounds crazy, but it works. All your doing is knocking the small particles of dirt loose....

+1 - this is the way to fix your problem.

I have used this "Flick trick" numerous times. I always have success.

Hint 1 - I poke the knob 5-10 times like I am poking someone I do not like in the chest. So for me it is really a "Poke Trick", but "Flick Trick" sounds cooler ....there have been times I had to repeat this process 5-10 times to get it to work and other times I would get it to work on my 1st try.

Hint 2 - Once you get the Steering Wheel Volume buttons working....Only change the volume with the Steering Wheel Controls....Do not use the Radio knob anymore. Why? - I found that when I used the radio knob, the steering controls stopped working again. Then I would do the Flick Trick and they worked again. ........Fast Forward 6 months - Now that I do not use the Radio Knob, I do not have to do the Flick Trick anymore

GL
.
__________________
John aka: Splendid

'91 LS - Golden Glow Pearl Clearcoat w/ Ivory Leather 94K miles



Mods 7 Spoke OEM Machined Rims, Sunroof Tilt, Armrest w/ Cupholder, Iggee Seat Covers w/ Controls mod. UnMods Removed tint

Gallery Pictures Link

DIY's
1) How to Install Iggee Front Seat Covers
2) Iggee front seat covers w/ seat controls mod
.
91LSplendid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 12:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 51


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocman View Post
Ok, I tried the finger flick thing with the volume control knob on the radio and all that did was probably brake my radio. I looked under the dash by the steering column and found a large wire, with the same connection as the CD changer wire, mounted vertically pointing down and it had nothing attached to it. There does not appear to be another wire to connect to it, so what is that wire for? I have also been looking through other threads and I came across one that is missing a bunch of posts by a user named MikeD. This thread seems to help fix a wiring problem, but all the info was in the MikeD posts. Does anyone know if that information is available anywhere else? Here is a link to the post:
found out my steering radio control wiring has failed

JocMan
That missing wire you are referring to is likely your problem.
tenk otomubay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 12:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
I want K-Sports..
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 1,421


Car 1: '94 Acura Legend LS
Car 2: '91 Honda Accord LX


iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to xpressive
Nope, I have that wire as well.. It doesn't have anything to do with it.. The steering controls run through a light blue plug and consists of 3 wires..
__________________

1994 Acura Legend LS Coupe Sherwood Green.
-Alpine 9883 -Alpine Type-R -Alpine PDX -17x8 Flik FTD -225/45/17 Nitto NeoGen Tires -Vogtland Springs.
TSX Projector Retrofit w/ DDM 55W Kit

231K+ running strong
xpressive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 09:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bronx
Posts: 6


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend Coupe LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The light blue plug that plugs into the back of my radio has only one wire on it. I thought that was kind of odd considering the plug is a 5 pin connection. Could that be my problem?

JocMan

Last edited by Jocman; 03-21-09 at 02:20 PM.
Jocman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© AutoGuide