CD Changer question. - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > Audio, Video, & Electronics

Audio, Video, & Electronics Discussions about Car audio and electronics.

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-04, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Same mudball as you
Posts: 99


Car 1: 1995 Legend GS


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
CD Changer question.

Hi,

I have a question regarding the CD changer which is controlled through the Acura stock Bose head unit.

Is there an aftermarket or OEM type 6 CD changer that will work directly with the stock Bose unit that will: play MP3 and WMA files, fit in the trunk sleeve, and use the stock cd cable?

Any info would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.
TouringLegend95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-26-04, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
0000$$$$0000####0000
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 4,943


Car 1: Acura


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The Honda and Acura OEM changers are made by Alpine. They are simply rebadged and to keep the two companies seperate, they invert the right signal and signal ground wires in the 8 pin DIN plug. Any Alpine M-Bus CD changer will work with the Honda/Acura decks. To get it to sound properly since the ouput signals are inverted you can do either of two things. The FREE way is to open the DIN plug, unsolder the #2 and #4 pins, swap and resolder them. The other way is to buy an aftermarket Alpine to Honda/Acura adaptor for about $25 and it does the swap for you internally. Now, if you want the MP3 changer you need to get the CHA-S634 I believe. This is the changer that can play MP3s and fortunately it is one of the few Ai-Net CD changers that are hybrids. Normally Ai-Net changers are NOT compatible with the M-Bus changers, but since it is a hybrid it works on both data carrier systems. What you need is to buy an Alpine Ai-Net to M-Bus adaptor and switch the CD changer to M-Bus. Now, you still need to do the other modification or buy the adaptor as I stated originally for M-Bus changers.
ChrisK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-04, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Coppell, Tx
Posts: 117


Car 1: Legend L 1992 blue


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I am in process of this change,, I am going with a alpine,,, I got the numbers at work but,,, I think they are chs635 with mp3 ($235) and I bought the conversion cables,,, 1 is a AInet convert $14.,,then another cable ($10) that plugs into it that allows connection to the stock cable in the trunk,, I don't have the alpine unit yet,,, sooo I don't know if it works,,, check the alpine web page and to a search for the right connection cables..

post above beat me,,, anyway use what he said,, but the cables are cheap if use the electronic's compare seach engine's
fender4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-04, 07:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
X-Runner
 
HiTek21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So. Cali
Posts: 426


Car 1: 2007 Toyota Tacoma X-Runner Speedway Blue 6spd MT
Car 2: 1993 L Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Alpine CHA-S634
Ai-Net to MBus Adapter
Honda / Acura to Alpine Adapter

Get those three items and its all plug and play from there. Just remember to change the little switch inside changer from 1 to 2 (inside where you insert the magazine) other wise it won't work. The Changer doesn't quite fit inside the plastic sleeve in the trunk so you will have to modify it a little to squeeze it in there. There is a DIY on Legendtuner.com

I ordered my stuff from crutchfield because i'm too lazy to shop around and they make sure you're happy with your product. I'm sure there are better prices. good luck to you.
__________________

2007 Tacoma X-Runner :: Speedway Blue :: 6 Speed MT
TRD Cold Air Intake, TRD Short Shifter, TRD Seat Covers, URD 3" Cat Back Exhaust, TTC Dual Traction Bars, TTC Sway Bar Kit, Gaylord X-2000 Lid, LED Tail Lights, Weather Tech Ventvisors, Nokya Hyper Yellow Fog Lights
HiTek21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-04, 03:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Chopper Challenge Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: .
Posts: 9,324


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
I noticed this question gets asked every now and then, so i just added it into the Newbie FAQ with a link to this thread, in case anybody else has anything to add to this
Banana! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-04, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 29


Car 1: 1994 Acura Legend GS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Where did you get that mc hammer animation?

Where did you get that mc hammer animation? THat's the funniest thing I've seen all week.
poppa_wheelies_parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-05, 02:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 61


Car 1: 1993 Legend LS Sedan Black


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What mp3 controls do you have?

I'm interested in buying this alpine CD changer for my 93 Lengend LS, which currently has the factory (or standard) alpine 6-CD changer.

What I'm curious about is, what kind of navigation is possible from the 'head' unit? Let's say I have 1 CD with 10 'albums' (10 folders, from a data perspective), and each 'album' has 20 tracks. Can I somehow navigate through albums THEN tracks, or do I have to plow through all 200 tracks to get to (eg) the last track?
steerpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-05, 02:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
X-Runner
 
HiTek21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So. Cali
Posts: 426


Car 1: 2007 Toyota Tacoma X-Runner Speedway Blue 6spd MT
Car 2: 1993 L Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Since the Headunit is not designed for folder navigation it does the very basic. It just goes through each song numerically/alphabetically.

It plays your album folders numerically / alphabetically, then each song numerically / alphabetically. So it depends on how you burn them on to the CDR if you do it by name or number

It's not real easy if you're looking for a specific song, you have to bascially memorize the what order your albums and tracks are in and kind of go alphabetically through each song until you reach the song you're looking for.

I usually leave mine on Auto Select
__________________

2007 Tacoma X-Runner :: Speedway Blue :: 6 Speed MT
TRD Cold Air Intake, TRD Short Shifter, TRD Seat Covers, URD 3" Cat Back Exhaust, TTC Dual Traction Bars, TTC Sway Bar Kit, Gaylord X-2000 Lid, LED Tail Lights, Weather Tech Ventvisors, Nokya Hyper Yellow Fog Lights
HiTek21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-08, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Westminster
Posts: 33


Car 1: 1991 Acura RL
Car 2: 1994 LS400 Lexus


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have a 1999 Acura RL 3.5. I recently purchased a Alpine CHA-S634 cd changer. My Acura has a navigation, boss head unit and Acura manufacture cd changer. Currently I do have KBC-130B (AI-Net to M-bus Adapter), the question is do you think the "Honda/Acura to Alpine Adaptor) will fit in my pre wire cd changer M-Bus cable (13 Pins female adapter).


Thank You
jakeacura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12


Car 1: 1999 Acura 3.5 Rl


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i have 1999 Acura rl with navigation. i bought a cd changer which is factory but i noticed that the connection is a 8 pin male and the car comes with a 13 pin female adapter. is there any cheap way out of this problem? what can i do?
b-easy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-08, 04:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Yellowraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 82


Car 1: 1994 Acura Legend LS 6 Spd
Car 2: 2005 Harley Davidson


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
ive used alpine changers in 3 different legends and they work....
its gotta have the 8 pin cable tho,.... check ebay there are always some kicking around just make sure to ask if the changer reads the cds and opperates properly
Yellowraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 01:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12


Car 1: 1999 Acura 3.5 Rl


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
since my car comes with a 13 pin adapter from my head unit. is there a cd changer for car? can i buy the factory 8 pin plug and hook that up. my car has navigation by the way
b-easy20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > Audio, Video, & Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All NOPI 2004 Threads in here! sleeprlegendcp Meets 26 09-16-04 03:30 PM
Help-More Cd changer question legendean Audio, Video, & Electronics 5 11-25-03 01:17 AM
changer question raky Audio, Video, & Electronics 1 03-27-03 12:29 PM
factory cd changer question icebergslim Audio, Video, & Electronics 1 11-22-02 01:33 PM
cd changer question SKYLANE Audio, Video, & Electronics 3 10-15-02 12:10 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© AutoGuide