Upgrade help for Gateway 832GM - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Off Topic > The Lounge > Computers

Computers Computer acting up? Have software questions? Post them in here!

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-08, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Upgrade help for Gateway 832GM

You guys seem to be computer experts so maybe you can help me out.
I bought a computer a couple of years ago and I would like to upgrade it. Can you guys give me some advice on what I should do? Can it even be upgraded? Since buying this I have expanded the memory to 4GB DDR (the pc only recognizes 3GB) and added a EVGA 256-P2-N423-LX GeForce 7300LE Supporting 512MB(256MB On-Board) 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card .

I think the power supply is 345 watts.


Thanks
Rob

General Spec
Brand Gateway
Model 832GM
Recommended Usage Business Desktops & Workstations
Processor Pentium4 630(3.0HGz)
Processor Main Features Hyper-Threading Technology
Cache Per Processor 2MB L2 Cache
Memory 1GB
Hard Drive 250GB
Optical Drive 1 Double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive
Optical Drive 2 16X DVD-ROM
Graphics Intel GMA900
Audio Intel High-Definition Audio
Ethernet Integrated 10/100 Ethernet
Speaker External amplified stereo speakers
Keyboard Premium multimedia
Mouse Two-button wheel mouse
Operating System Windows XP Media Center
Special Features FM tuner and antenna
Media Center remote control
CPU
CPU Type Pentium 4
Installed Qty 1
CPU FSB 800MHz
CPU Speed 630(3.0GHz)
L2 Cache Per CPU 2MB
CPU Socket Type LGA 775
Graphics
GPU/VPU Type Intel GMA 900
Graphics Interface Integrated video
Memory
Memory Capacity 1GB DDR
Memory Speed DDR400
Form Factor DIMM 184-pin
Maximum Memory Supported 2GB
Hard Drive
HD Capacity 250GB
HD Interface SATA
HD RPM 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Optical Drive Type Double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive
Optical Drive Spec 8X/4X/12X DVD+RW; 8X/4X/12X DVD-RW; 16X/32X/40X CD-RW
Optical Drive 2
Optical Drive 2 Type 16X DVD-ROM
Supplemental Drive
Media Slots TV Tuner Card: AVerMedia M113
Audio
Audio Chipset Intel High-Definition Audio
Communications
Modem 56K. V92
LAN Chipset Integrated
LAN Speed 10/100Mbps
FIR IR receiver
Front Panel Ports
Front USB 1
Front IEEE 1394 2
Front Audio Ports 2
Card Reader 8-in-1 digital media manager supporting the following:
CompactFlash Card
IBM MicroDrive
Memory Stick
Memory Stick Pro
SmartMedia Card
Secure Digital(SD)/MMC
USB 2.0
Back Panel Ports
COM 1
LPT 1
PS/2 2
Rear USB 6
Rear IEEE 1394 1
RJ45 1 port
Rear Audio Ports five on rear of computer
Expansion
External Bays 3.5-inch bays: 2 (one used for media card reader)
5.25-inch bays: 2 (both used for optical drives)
Internal Bays 3.5-inch bays: 3 (one used for hard drive)
PCI Slots (Available/Total) One PCI-E ×16
One PCI-E ×1
Three PCI
Mouse
Mouse Type Two-button wheel mouse
Keyboard
Keyboard Type Premium multimedia
Speaker
Speaker Configuration External Ampplified stereo speakers
Physical Spec
Dimensions 16.8" × 8" × 17.5"
Weight 37 lbs.
Manufacturer Warranty
Parts 1 year
Labor 1 year
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-01-08, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
if you go with xp 64bit or vist 64bit, all 4 GB will be shown. Anyway, i personally believe that there is no point upgrading that old of a PC. Its like buying a civic, then wasting 30 grand to make it hang with the viper and corvette. better off getting the real deal. If you wanna build one yourself, check out newegg.com. They got some good stuff. Anything based on the Core 2 Dou or Core 2 Quad will be fine. Match that with a ATI HD 4870 and your rocking. If not, get a dell. Nothing wrong with it. Get 4 GB of ram and that thing will fly.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
if you go with xp 64bit or vist 64bit, all 4 GB will be shown. Anyway, i personally believe that there is no point upgrading that old of a PC. Its like buying a civic, then wasting 30 grand to make it hang with the viper and corvette. better off getting the real deal. If you wanna build one yourself, check out newegg.com. They got some good stuff. Anything based on the Core 2 Dou or Core 2 Quad will be fine. Match that with a ATI HD 4870 and your rocking. If not, get a dell. Nothing wrong with it. Get 4 GB of ram and that thing will fly.

I'm trying to hold on to this for about two more years. It's not really that slow but I would like better graphics.

Rob
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
It has integrated graphics meaning that the chip is on the motherboard. You got to see if the computer has a AGP or PCI-express slot. If does, you can upgrade to a video card.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
sap
Registered User
 
sap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,249


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan AT
Car 2: 93 L Coupe 6MT :(
Car 3: 86 Camaro IROC Z


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sap
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
It has integrated graphics meaning that the chip is on the motherboard. You got to see if the computer has a AGP or PCI-express slot. If does, you can upgrade to a video card.
As he mentioned in his first paragraph, he's already done a video card upgrade (though it looks like that would have been a while back).

Newer video card might help again, though I'm in the "time to get a new PC" camp if you're looking to play games. Otherwise I don't think you're going to be able to improve graphics performance that much.
sap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
Quote:
Originally Posted by sap View Post
As he mentioned in his first paragraph, he's already done a video card upgrade (though it looks like that would have been a while back).

Newer video card might help again, though I'm in the "time to get a new PC" camp if you're looking to play games. Otherwise I don't think you're going to be able to improve graphics performance that much.
sorry, missed that. I guess you got to get a better video card then.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
It has integrated graphics meaning that the chip is on the motherboard. You got to see if the computer has a AGP or PCI-express slot. If does, you can upgrade to a video card.
It has the PCI-express slot but I dont know what card to get. I bought a card for it last year but it was to big. I sold it on the forum. I would need some thing small, that doesn't require two bays/slots for space. I probably will also need a higher watt power supply to run the card properly.
Any recommendations?
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by sap View Post
As he mentioned in his first paragraph, he's already done a video card upgrade (though it looks like that would have been a while back).

Newer video card might help again, though I'm in the "time to get a new PC" camp if you're looking to play games. Otherwise I don't think you're going to be able to improve graphics performance that much.

I would like better grahpics for games, movies and video. My card is old.
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
Newegg.com - FSP Group Blue Storm II 400 400W ATX 2.2 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
installed it one of my cousins computers awhile ago. Still works.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 03:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
Newegg.com - FSP Group Blue Storm II 400 400W ATX 2.2 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
installed it one of my cousins computers awhile ago. Still works.
Nice. Can you recommend a graphics card?

Rob
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 03:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
CEN2MENTAL95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where Legends are a plenty
Posts: 2,425


Car 1: 95 L Sedan
Car 2: 95 LS Coupe
Car 3: 01 Toyota 4 Runner


iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to CEN2MENTAL95
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
If not, get a dell. Nothing wrong with it.
the fact that you just said that kills any credibility you just had with me

Dell's are 3rd world country pieces of shit!
CEN2MENTAL95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 04:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEN2MENTAL95 View Post
the fact that you just said that kills any credibility you just had with me

Dell's are 3rd world country pieces of shit!
well, back in the day when the family first bought a pc, it worked fine. dimension 4100. Full 1GHz PIII, and 128mb or ram. That thing still runs. don't know about now. It sounds like they changed.
as for video cards, whats your budget. There are plenty of them.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
well, back in the day when the family first bought a pc, it worked fine. dimension 4100. Full 1GHz PIII, and 128mb or ram. That thing still runs. don't know about now. It sounds like they changed.
as for video cards, whats your budget. There are plenty of them.
What's the best one that will fit in my PC? I bought a XFX PVT80GGHD4 GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card but it didn't fit. I sold it on the forum. The express slot for this card is placed in a bad spot in the pc. I need a more slender card that fits in one bay. I would have had to upgrade the power supply if it did fit.

Rob
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 04:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobbyGlide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 355


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend L Coupe
Car 2: 2011 Camry SE V6


iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BobbyGlide
Quote:
Originally Posted by dog2525 View Post
well, back in the day when the family first bought a pc, it worked fine. dimension 4100. Full 1GHz PIII, and 128mb or ram. That thing still runs. don't know about now. It sounds like they changed.
as for video cards, whats your budget. There are plenty of them.
What about this?

XFX PVT96GYDSU GeForce 9600 GT XXX Alpha Dog Eddition 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail


Newegg.com - XFX PVT96GYDSU GeForce 9600 GT XXX Alpha Dog Eddition 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
[CENTER]
[/CENTER
BobbyGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 04:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
How Do I Downshift?
 
dog2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 429


Car 1: 93 legend 5 Spd L


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dog2525 Send a message via MSN to dog2525 Send a message via Yahoo to dog2525
Newegg.com - KFA2 by Galaxy 96GFF6VIFCXX GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 SLI Supported Low Profile Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
heres the same card except smaller form. don't know the exact measurements of your slot and of the cards so can't really tell you what will work and want not.
__________________
FS: Main Relay
dog2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Off Topic > The Lounge > Computers


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© AutoGuide