·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I noticed a few weeks after I bought my Legend that my spoilers brake light
wont work. I inspected and noticed that there was a black wire loose in
the trunk. As Im a total noob when it comes to car electricity, I was
wondering if someone would help me a bit. Any idea what the black wire is
for? I know black is usually ground but I tried that and the light didn't work.
So can it be something else? It goes straight to the brake light in the spoiler.

Another question is about ABS brakes. I searched the forum and found some
topics about similar problems but nothing quite like it. My ABS light turns on
when I start the car (as it should) and then goes off, but when I start to drive
this weird humming sound starts and lasts about a minute and then the ABS
light pops back on. I tried resetting the ABS unit by removing the fuse for a few
seconds but it didn't help. Possibly a broken sensor?

·
Registered
3,110 Posts
I would imagine that black wire is indeed the ground... the bulb(s) may have burned out? I've never seen the stock spoiler in detail before =[

The ABS issue is most likely a failing ABS pump. Have you checked the fluid level in the ABS reservoir though?

·
Registered
3,110 Posts
I don't know the cost to replace one, honestly... I do know that a more common solution seems to be removal of the fuse for the ABS pump. Remove the fuse and see if the problem abstains.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Next time the ABS light comes on, check the trouble code that is set on the ABS contoller. Typically, the ABS controller (box) in the trunk behind the rear seat.

Don't turn the ignition off and then back on as the ABS sets "soft" codes.....the code will disappear once the controller loses power.

See the online manual (if its still linked) for the procedure and trouble code table.