Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, like I mentioned to helpful part-time investor Samblaze a couple weeks ago, I want to invest in the stock market but I have no experience with S.M. investing.

I am thinking $50 to start investing with because I want to start out small to get comfortable then use bigger bills later on. Is $50 enough? How would one go about investing for the first time? What type of stocks should a beginner invest in?

I am planning on investing in large established international fortune 500 companies first, for the obvious reasons. Then as I get my swagger I'll make risky short term investments.

So, any advice? I'm hoping this thread can not only help me but others in the same situation as well.

·
aclegend
746 Posts
when i wanted to start out , i did a lot of research on how to get in. the only way possible was to invest through a bank or there are private corporations that just deal with investments. investing through a bank required a minimum balance of $5000, but a company like etrade only requires i think $2000. So im pretty sure $50 wont be enough. I'll have to find out but i think there are a few other companies with the minimum requirement of $1000.

·
aclegend
746 Posts
1 more thing, there are two types of account u can go for, either a cash or a margin... lets say if u open a cash account with a balance of $5000, and the stock starts to decline, all u will loose are those $5000 u invested, but in a margin account, u will be responsible to cover up ur losses meaning u will have to maintain a balance of 5000 at all times.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Aw, my bank has investment options as well I just wanted feedback from you guys. About the 50, I was just trying to get an idea of how much is too little. I would think it can be used with a mutual fund. No?

·
SGM / Type F
3,699 Posts