Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Sexy Member
7,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of lowering my car, but i have no knowledge of what i have to do to lower it and what i gotta buy to do this lowering, how much does it cost to lower a car and all that parts? thanks

·
Registered
327 Posts
OK first thing you have to decide is do you want to have the freedom to adjust your car hight or just have it one hight year round.
- They you have to ask yourself "HOW LOW DO I WANT TO GO".
- Finally ask your self how much of the ride quality are you will to give up.

To drop a LEGEND the RIGHT way you must have a fair bit of $$$ in your pocket so that you do not lose too much of the ride comfort.
The first thing to look out for is to replace your struts/shocks (same difference). The BEST aftermarket struts are the KONI'S Adjustabe struts for our cars (G2's = 1991-1995 sedan or coupe)
The have a ride dampener which lets you adjust the softness of the struts and they also have different perchs at different hights to allow you to place the spring either higher or lower than factory(.25inches) These will probably run you about $500+ for a set for our cars today.

Basically for springs you have to decide if you want them to stay fixed or adjustable (a "coil-over" type) If you go with a spring (fixed) you have 3 main choices.
1. Eibach's- only 1.1 inch drop and pretty stiff, must be used with koni struts or you will notice that your car is not dropped evenly, front much higher than back, but the koni perch fixes that.
2. H&R's - 1.5 inch drop (more like 2 when they settle) and the ride is SWEET!!!. looks good and very even drop with very little ride comfort lost.
3. Suspension Tech. - 1.4 inch drop - I was not please with them for the price, but some people may like them
(all springs range from about $215-$275)

If you want a coil-over type of set-up then you also have 3 choices more or less