Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, here's the deal: I need a new computer, and it needs to have the following

lots of RAM... probably around 1-2 Gigs
fast processor - Dual Mac G4's or Pentium Xenon
large hard drive
fast video card

I would like to know what you guys think - my occupation is photography, and I'm going almost fully digital and doing web design, and I need a box that will multitask and be reliable, yet be able to be upgraded.... should I go with a Dual G4 Mac, or should I go for a Dell Xenon Workstation/desktop machine?? I'm open to any other suggestions, like IBM or Gateway... but I do believe that Sun Microsystems is a little too much (They quoted me $12,134 for what I wanted... geez!) So what would you all suggest for a good graphics-based computer?

·
Registered
851 Posts
Hmmmm......., if me, this is what I'm going to get:

Dual AMD Athlon XP overclocked to about 2000+ each
DDR Ram 1-2 gig like you said.
Do you want RAID??? you can......... HD is big and cheap now 120Gb is available too.
Nvidia Quadro DCC??? hehehee........ of maybe GeForce4 Ti 4600

But it's just me............., Apple is good too, but I better off with PC, because I can tinker with it more.

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
I say get the G4, especially the New Juiced Up version with Dual 1GHz.

That's what everyone in the Advertising and Photo World are using. Also, get the 22" Apple Cinema Display to go with it.

http://www.apple.com/powermac/

·
0000$$$$0000####0000
4,943 Posts
I'm not sure about the programs out for stills, but in video, I would say go with the MAC. I'm a PC guy myself, but I work in television, and friends of mine work in movie editing, and most places use MACs because of the better video programs, and for better stability of the system. All the editor bays at work are all MACs and Adivds.

·
Banned
2,642 Posts