Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys I just got done building and installing my custom setup and I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of my subs. Right now I have two ten's mounted between the 6x9's on my back deck. The boxes hang down into the trunk. I have them lined with fiberglass insulation at about 50%.
Now, I was considering venting the boxes to get more bass. The easiest way for me to vent would be to drill wholes and vent backwards toward the back of the car. The boxes are 1.06ft squared each and the specs for the area of a vented box is 0.88ft squared. Is there some way I could fill in the box a lil bit to account for this? Would it make a big difference to vent them instead of having them enclosed? Would it make the bass a lot sloppier?
Also, is fiberglass ok to use in a box? I didn't want to spend money on poly-fill. I'm really new at all of this audio stuff and any advice would be very appriciated.

·
Premium Member
9,167 Posts
Poly-fill and insulation will not work the same, what you should do it remove the insulation and try to use the subs without it. Polyfill is only used in small box applications or with a sub that needs more airspace than you can allow. Polyfill makes the sub think it's in a bigger box, but it doesn't do much. The insulation is pretty much just cutting down on your box space. Remove the insulation and post again with your results.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks... I had no idea. I will try removing the fiberglass- only thought that ppl didn't use it bc it got in your fingers. One more question... do I need to line the box with poly-fill or just fill it up 50% with it? Thanks.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·