Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, first off, I have searched the FAQ's and what not, so I have some knowledge of the Legends. I found a '91 4dr LS 5spd that I am thinking about buying.

I will be looking at and driving the car tomorrow (Fri).

Here is what I know about it, '91 4 dr LS, 160K miles, snows plus regular tires, T-belt changed at 155k, tune up done at 150k.

What types of things should I look at? I know that overheating can be an issue in these cars, I plan to look the radiator over thouroughly.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Well the radiator should def. be looked over and if original replace that with a new one along with upper/lower rad. hoses, new thermostat, sensor. Check for any fluid leaks around engine seals (rear) and tranny mount on the rear for any clunking sound or excess. vibration when car is put in gear. Check cond. of CV axles, steering rack and boot cover for any leaks due seals going bad if original. Change the tranny fluid if discolored ( I would regardless) and drain/fill diff. fluid with 80W-90 gear oil. I would just take it to a good Acura/Honda shop and pay to have it inspected for the above and others they will check out also. BTW, the 99tl made about 225hp where did you get those numbers?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ZiggyB said:
...BTW, the 99tl made about 225hp where did you get those numbers?
Those are at the wheel dyno numbers, power is lost in drive train. Thanks for the advice too!

·
Registered
381 Posts
i tell you one thing..

when you drive them do a 0-60 speed once then just drive for few minutes and come to a stop and let the engine run for a while and look at the temp guage.. if it's normal you good man...