Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i remember someone asking before, but i didnt get the details so im gonne ask again.....what is a port n polish?...what does it do?...where do i get it done?...how much should i expect to pay?....sorry for the questions...im a rookie at fixing up cars...i dont mind learning through my legend though...its a G2 sedan....thanx...

·
Registered
583 Posts
smooth baby smooth

P&P
(Usually) is smoothing the intake and exhaust areas of your head. You can also P&P your exhaust manifolds.
In addition to smoothing, you can have these areas reshaped to increase volume or speed in which you get more stuff in or out of your engine. P&P can be cheap by hackers, or expensive by F1 race motor builders. It can run anywhere from $500 to $2000.
And it's not just a weekend bolt on (read: takes a lot of time).

Thanks to MR Big for the site pointer... and after checking out this site they seem to know their shyte:
http://www.paeco.com/

The above is just a B A S I C definition, not ment to be all inclusive. Just simple.
:rolleyes:

·
Banned
2,642 Posts
I ported and polished my intake, heads and exaust manifolds. Took me ~12 hours to tear down to the head gaskets and build back from there and an additional 16 hours of work to port and polish everything. A professional could do it faster, I am certain. My Legend was only the 3rd car I did a P&P job on.

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
Hey NICK theres a after market torque conver out there for our cars?????

·
Banned
2,642 Posts
Yep. There are two companies on the East Coast that make high stall torque converters for a G2 Legend.

Pro-Torque on Long Island and Level 10 in Northwestern NJ.

I also believe Pro-Torque makes a high stall torque converter for G1 Legends as well.

·
Registered
1,634 Posts