Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
0000$$$$0000####0000
4,943 Posts
The plastic mounting braket in which the cable mounts to is broken. Two option here. You buy a new inside door handle for a cople of hundred, or you fix it using expoxy. I choose the expoxy route and have not have a problem for about 2 years in the 93 and 95, and almost 5 years in my old 91 which my friend now owns. How long it last depends on how good a job you do :)

·
Registered
996 Posts
The job is not hard, but there are a few tricky, and tight spots. It shouldn't take more than a couple of hours to do. You should get yourself the HELM manual, as some of the bolt and clip locations can be tough to find (plus it's really good for other repairs!)

·
Registered
744 Posts
Hmmm.

A couple of hours, nah.

you must mean for the whole entire repair action which includes time for the expoxy to cure because I'm not a proffessional, however, I can have the door panels off in maybe (at most) 5 minutes.

There is a specific tool (although generic) that slips between the door panel and the actual door. It is called a trim tool (by ac delco) although I thought we all have this tool readily available or maybe just available. Anyways, I spent 5 dollars on this screw driver that has a bent shaft and a tip that splits into a u shape.

Other than that unscrewing 4 screws and poping out the plastic trim pieces - unplugging the electrics and the interior handle plastics - we are talking maybe 10 minutes max.

KNLNGUS

good luck with your project. After removing the door and inspecting the plastics where the interior door handle mates with the cable, I would check with the dealer to see if they have the plastic piece that you need. OR visit a junk yard.:D :D

·
Registered
41 Posts
This just happened to me on the passenger side door of my 93 coupe.

I'll take it apart this weekend and have a look.

Champagne Legend, did you have any luck fixing it yourself?

thanks.

·
Registered
1,916 Posts