Acura Legend Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
94 LS Coupe... Last week (twice) my speedometer took a mile or two to come to life... It appeared the odometer kept working and that the only prob was a intermittant speedo guage...I think it may be water intrusion due to rains last week and the car spent a lot of time not in the garage.... It was working 4.0 up to this point and 4.0 since.. but the car is now back in the warmth of the garage... Any thoughts ??? thanks...JJ

·
Registered
476 Posts
I am no expert, but I had identical problems while in a rain storm... I was on the freeway when suddenly my speedometer quit all together, sort of dropping slowly but jerkily down.

Spontaneously it started working again a few hours later, then quit again that night. I have NEVER had any other problems with it, this was just over about a 12 hour period. We had SEVERE rainfall and I contribute it to being "waterlogged."

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it"

·
Registered
4,106 Posts
The only way water could short out the VSS would be for the vehicle to be almost up to its door mouldings in water....well, above the rocker panels.

Think back...have you ever been driving using Cruise and suddenly had the Cruise cut-off, the RPMs drop and the Speedometer drop? When reset, no problem? Another symptom of a failing VSS.

·
Registered
4,106 Posts
Twice during a long trip in which I was using cruise for several hrs, I experienced the momentary loss of cruise, RPM and speedometer drop. When reset, no problem. No codes nor flashing D4. I believe the problem to have been the VSS begining to fail so I have changed it. I shall find out in 3 weeks when I next make a very long trek. Normally, I would not "throw a part at a problem" given no Code nor flashing D4, but given the frequency of VSS failures posted on this Forum, I have elected to make a preemptive repair.

·
Registered
273 Posts
how much does it cost to replace a VSS (Vehicle Speed Sesor)