Trunk lid shock install pic - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)

Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-03, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Trunk lid shock pic



i was wondering how you did this mod.. what car is the jack for? thanx

Last edited by Mike Diaz; 10-18-03 at 04:37 AM.
lDneGeL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-03, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
92 LS *o*pe
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bay Area California (Hayward)
Posts: 466


Car 1: 92 Legend LS Coupe(SOLD)


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Nutoy
That is my trunck shocks. I had remove my trunck bar because i have a subwoofer box in my rear deck lid. The bar was in the way. I bought the parts from a local auto part store for about $15 a pieace. It works wonder. Some people thinks that i have some sort of motor in there because my trunk slowly raised all the way up as soon as i release the trunk. Keep posted because i'm going to show all you guys what my audio fiberglass trunk looks like soon. I just need to buy another digital camera.
__________________
AUDIO SETUP


TMEM790 7" screen
DVA7996 Headunit
NVEN852A Navigation
TUA-T020XM Satelite Radio
PXA-H510 DTS Processor
CHAS20 CD Changer
DHAS680 DVD Changer
BRAX2000 2Ch Amp
BRAX2400 4Ch Amp
QSD216 6.5 Separates
QSD213 5.5 Separates
Aluma Pro 10x2 Subs
Aluma Pro 15 Farad Cap
Monster Cable Wires
Nutoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i have dynamat in my trunk and my trunk barely pops up and i was thinkin about doin the same mod as you.. can you tell me wat car those are for or can you tell me the specs of the shocks.. like the length of it. thanx
lDneGeL is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-15-03, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
92 LS *o*pe
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bay Area California (Hayward)
Posts: 466


Car 1: 92 Legend LS Coupe(SOLD)


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Nutoy
Those shocks are not from any car. I'm sure they're made for some type of car but the lenght was perfect for me to use in my car. If you must know i bought it from Kragen. I'm not quite sure , but i think it was around 5 to 6 inches. I"ll measure it for you tomorrow when i'm at work.
__________________
AUDIO SETUP


TMEM790 7" screen
DVA7996 Headunit
NVEN852A Navigation
TUA-T020XM Satelite Radio
PXA-H510 DTS Processor
CHAS20 CD Changer
DHAS680 DVD Changer
BRAX2000 2Ch Amp
BRAX2400 4Ch Amp
QSD216 6.5 Separates
QSD213 5.5 Separates
Aluma Pro 10x2 Subs
Aluma Pro 15 Farad Cap
Monster Cable Wires
Nutoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
GoldenCoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 497


Car 1: 1993 Cashmere Silver LS Coupe


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to GoldenCoupe
I love that mod...I've always wondered if it were possible to accomplish. Now I wonder if there is a difference between the placement for a coupe? I'd love to do that for my alarm trunk pop...

**now that I notice...you have a coupe
Please do tell...I want to do that!!!
__________________
93 Cashmere Silver LS Coupe

My Legend's sad
GoldenCoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-03, 04:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 92


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You must have drilled a hole in the metal of that bar, right?...how would that be done?
pi314159-ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-03, 07:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 671


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by pi314159-ish
You must have drilled a hole in the metal of that bar, right?...how would that be done?
with a drill, perhaps? j/k...

wally
wallstrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-03, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 92


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i should have asked if it was a special drill bit. is it?
pi314159-ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-03, 06:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
92 LS *o*pe
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bay Area California (Hayward)
Posts: 466


Car 1: 92 Legend LS Coupe(SOLD)


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Nutoy
Actually the holes were predrill. Then i went back and thread it, so i can put a 10mm bolt into it. Overall it was a pretty easy install for me. If your in my area i can help you with this process.
__________________
AUDIO SETUP


TMEM790 7" screen
DVA7996 Headunit
NVEN852A Navigation
TUA-T020XM Satelite Radio
PXA-H510 DTS Processor
CHAS20 CD Changer
DHAS680 DVD Changer
BRAX2000 2Ch Amp
BRAX2400 4Ch Amp
QSD216 6.5 Separates
QSD213 5.5 Separates
Aluma Pro 10x2 Subs
Aluma Pro 15 Farad Cap
Monster Cable Wires
Nutoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 09:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
GoldenCoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 497


Car 1: 1993 Cashmere Silver LS Coupe


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to GoldenCoupe
I checked mine last night...and they have no such holes. Guess I'll have to make my own. What size did you say they were? Brand? thanx man
__________________
93 Cashmere Silver LS Coupe

My Legend's sad
GoldenCoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 03:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 671


Car 1: 1992 LS Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
adding my email to the thread

I have trunk release on my remote starter, that would be a cool mod to have it go all the way up.

-James
James92LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 04:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 746


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My trunk goes up most of the way when it's popped. It has a factory spoiler and I'm guessing the heavy duty springs and it just goes right up. btw, how did you hook up your trunk release to your alarm? I can't figure mine out
CU-Legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-03, 11:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 495


Car 1: 2012 Acura MDX Advanced
Car 2: 1994 Acura Legend GS
Car 3: 1999 BMW M Roadster


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to legend921
I want to know if you have a DIY set up for that trunk shock lid
legend921 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-03, 02:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
AKA Smartjay28
 
Johnny Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: East Brunswick, NJ 732
Posts: 5,671


Car 1: JDM KA7
Car 2: w203


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Johnny Kim Send a message via Yahoo to Johnny Kim
Quote:
Originally posted by James92LS
adding my email to the thread

I have trunk release on my remote starter, that would be a cool mod to have it go all the way up.

-James
same here...ima go check for the predrilled hole
__________________
Quote:
yes im in....whose dis jonny kim fella how i find him imma try a search now
Johnny Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-03, 02:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 671


Car 1: 1992 LS Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I am going to try to mod my trunk to open like the BMW ones: using struts with no bar that goes into the trunk.

We'll see how that goes

-James
James92LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© AutoGuide