G2 Legend Stereo FAQ - Page 11 - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > Audio, Video, & Electronics

Audio, Video, & Electronics Discussions about Car audio and electronics.

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-01-09, 12:02 PM   #151 (permalink)
sap
Registered User
 
sap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,249


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan AT
Car 2: 93 L Coupe 6MT :(
Car 3: 86 Camaro IROC Z


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sap
Quote:
Originally Posted by trav4517 View Post
The problem i am having is that.
last night my radio and Clock had cut out at the same time. But i noticed if i connect the radio power wire (red) and the memory wire (yellow) they work but of course i loose all presets and clock memory every time i turn the car off. Its almost as i lost all memory in my car. Can anybody help me?
Have you checked for blown fuses? There should be a 7.5A fuse in the under-hood fuse box that would cut the constant battery voltage to the HU if it's blown.
__________________

Visit the Legend Wiki
sap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-09, 09:10 PM   #152 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Amp or no amp

Hi guys. Read your post on bypassing the stock amp and the location of it. My car is a 94 legend L. I replaced the stock HU with a alpine, the stock was a bose tape deck and read 4ohm on the side, I also have the stock cd changer in the back. The alpine worked for a day then the sound quite. Bench tested the alpine and worked fine so i thought the amp went, problem is i don't believe there is a amp in this car because where you say the stock bose amp should be is another case with four pluges going in to it and on the pass side another case with three plugs. So not sure what the problem is yet. Any ideas? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
danr355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-09, 01:21 PM   #153 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 53


Car 1: 1991 Gold Legend L Coupe


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Questions regarding aftermarket installations

As my standard BOSE head unit is almost completely spent, I'm planning to replace it with an aftermarket system. Now I'm not sure whether my anti-theft system is aftermarket as well. My guess is that it's factory installed as I don't see anything added under the steering wheel or elsewhere in the cabin, and the anti-theft lights on the stereo head unit and door are still flashing.

Questions
1) How will an aftermarket head unit impact the anti-theft system?
2) How will it work with the power antenna (which I'm replacing as well)?
3) There is a 11cm x 19cm space were I to remove the head unit. Can anyone recommend a stereo/cd changer that fits in this space?

Thanks for your time!
__________________
1991 Gold Legend L Coupe - Automatic, 166,000 miles (as of 10/10), beige (clean) interior. Car spent first 11 years in Santa Fe and next 3 in Phoenix. Replaced dried out (cracked) engine mounts, repainted vehicle in '04, and moved it to Chicago.
Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 07-31-09, 03:01 PM   #154 (permalink)
sap
Registered User
 
sap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,249


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan AT
Car 2: 93 L Coupe 6MT :(
Car 3: 86 Camaro IROC Z


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy View Post
As my standard BOSE head unit is almost completely spent, I'm planning to replace it with an aftermarket system. Now I'm not sure whether my anti-theft system is aftermarket as well. My guess is that it's factory installed as I don't see anything added under the steering wheel or elsewhere in the cabin, and the anti-theft lights on the stereo head unit and door are still flashing.

Questions
1) How will an aftermarket head unit impact the anti-theft system?
2) How will it work with the power antenna (which I'm replacing as well)?
3) There is a 11cm x 19cm space were I to remove the head unit. Can anyone recommend a stereo/cd changer that fits in this space?

Thanks for your time!
1) The OEM alarm will work just fine.

2) The power antenna will work just fine, every aftermarket deck I've ever seen has an output for raising a power antenna.

3) If you just want a standard sized HU then go to walmart or something and get a kit that'll fit the opening. While you're at it make sure you find a harness adapter so you don't have to hack up the OEM stereo wiring.
__________________

Visit the Legend Wiki
sap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-09, 05:12 PM   #155 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 3,632


Car 1: 93 Black L Coupe
Car 2: 91 Red LS Coupe(RIP)


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to JTJohnny102 Send a message via MSN to JTJohnny102
I have the standard bose system and my rear speakers for whatever reason have stopped working so I plan on replacing the front and rear. I'm not familiar with speakers and ohms and so forth and I'm still a little confused. So should I or can I buy speakers that are 2 ohm? or should I buy 4 ohm speakers? Any recommendations, I dont need anything crazy, just something to replace the stock, at least something as good if not better than stock, my headunit is alpine btw.
JTJohnny102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-09, 06:46 PM   #156 (permalink)
sap
Registered User
 
sap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 2,249


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan AT
Car 2: 93 L Coupe 6MT :(
Car 3: 86 Camaro IROC Z


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sap
A stock system in a '93 L should have 4-ohm speakers, so you should be able to replace the stock ones with pretty much anything on a store shelf.

Whether it'll actually solve your problem or not I couldn't tell you.
__________________

Visit the Legend Wiki
sap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-09, 05:58 PM   #157 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 3,632


Car 1: 93 Black L Coupe
Car 2: 91 Red LS Coupe(RIP)


iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Send a message via AIM to JTJohnny102 Send a message via MSN to JTJohnny102
can someone explain to me about the two way three way and four way speakers..not quite sure what that relates to.
JTJohnny102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-10, 03:54 AM   #158 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Maadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1


Car 1: BMW
Car 2: Honda


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTJohnny102 View Post
can someone explain to me about the two way three way and four way speakers..not quite sure what that relates to.
Two way speaker, there are two kinds of drivers, A woofer for low frequencies and another driver for mid and high frequencies. In a three way speaker there are separate low, mid and high frequency drivers. Typical crossover frequencies might be 500Hz and 4kHz. Four-ways combine a woofer, a mid range, a tweeter, and a super tweeter.
Maadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-10, 10:21 AM   #159 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Question??

I bought my daughter a 1991 Acura Legend for her first car. There were no owner's manuals with the purchase.

Since I purchased it, the battery has died. I replaced the battery, and now I get this "Code" error when turning on the radio. I found in an online owner's manual that this is an anti-theft feature of the vehicle.

Is it possible for me to go to an Acura Dealer, and possibly get this code reset or get the original code?
angieboyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-11, 12:54 PM   #160 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 7


Car 1: 1992 Acura Legend


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey guys i have a question, well more like need some assistance. I have a 1992 Legend, base model, and when i got the car i realized that the previous owner had an aftermarket radio and amp and what not installed. They removed the amp and new radio but left all the wiring. So i have the rca cables, ground and remote cables still hooked up inside the car but just the factory Bose stereo to reconnect. I'm trying to figure out how to reconnect the factory rear speakers... would anybody know how to do that? I reattached the harness wires to the factory Bose system, so my front speakers work but my rears dont. Obviously they had been attached to the amp by the previous owner. I'm not very electrical savvy but it doesnt seem very hard to just reconnect the wires, im just unsure if i'm supposed somehow run the rear speaker wires through floor and side of my car back into the harness that attaches to the Bose stereo or what??? Any info would be helpful. Thanks!
Giza1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-11, 02:31 PM   #161 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Chico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 115


Car 1: 1991 Acura Legend LS


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexc View Post
1991-1992 LS ------ Bose

....

Bose*
The Bose system uses the 2100 model AM/FM/Cassette tuner and an 80Wx4 (peak power) amplifier mounted behind the rear seat. The Bose speakers in this system present a 2 ohm load per channel, which the OEM amplifier is equipped to handle.
....

Replacing speakers in the Premium system
There are several brands which make 2 ohm speakers. The ones I know of are Soundstream and Image Dynamics. They can be difficult to find. The other option is to simply use regular 4 ohm speakers. The volume of the 4 ohm speakers will be half of what it should be due to the mismatched resistance. If you replace only the fronts, or only the rears, you can use the fader to compensate for the difference in volume between front and rear.

so, can't i get exactly the same ones with stock ones? I could not see their model number, all I know is the brand is bose
Chico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 01:25 AM   #162 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12


Car 1: 1992 Acura Legend LS Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I see this thread is old but Im in abit of a hurry. I'll apologize in advance because Im sure my question has been asked 10 times before, but Im new..

I recently bought a 92 Legend LS sedan with the Bose 2100 stock stereo. Amazing car, and it will be alot of fun to work on. But unfortunately 3 of the 4 stock speakers are almost completely blown :/ I dont do very much audio work so I thought Id ask the experts

these front speakers
Amazon Search: "Infinity Reference 6032cf 6.5-Inch 180-Watt High-Performance Two-Way Speakers"
& these rear speakers
Amazon Search: "Infinity Reference 9632cf 6x9-Inch, 300-Watt High Performance Two-Way Loudspeaker"

They claim to be 2ohm impedance but will these ^^^ speakers blow my stock amp? Sorry for not having a link, it wont let me until Im not a newbie. Thanks much
Densetsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 01:39 AM   #163 (permalink)
Moderator
 
OrangeGen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: gallipolis ohio
Posts: 429


Car 1: 1987 legend
Car 2: 1976 AMC Gremlin
Car 3: 1991 legend ls


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Densetsu View Post
I see this thread is old but Im in abit of a hurry. I'll apologize in advance because Im sure my question has been asked 10 times before, but Im new..

I recently bought a 92 Legend LS sedan with the Bose 2100 stock stereo. Amazing car, and it will be alot of fun to work on. But unfortunately 3 of the 4 stock speakers are almost completely blown :/ I dont do very much audio work so I thought Id ask the experts

these front speakers
Amazon Search: "Infinity Reference 6032cf 6.5-Inch 180-Watt High-Performance Two-Way Speakers"
& these rear speakers
Amazon Search: "Infinity Reference 9632cf 6x9-Inch, 300-Watt High Performance Two-Way Loudspeaker"

They claim to be 2ohm impedance but will these ^^^ speakers blow my stock amp? Sorry for not having a link, it wont let me until Im not a newbie. Thanks much
they should be fine the 180 watt is only peak power so thats the max, if i remember right thats whats in my car but im not using the factory system. and if you dont mind me asking were you from in ohio ?
__________________


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The first REAR WHEEL DRIVE LEGEND^^
OrangeGen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 01:53 AM   #164 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12


Car 1: 1992 Acura Legend LS Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeGen1 View Post
they should be fine the 180 watt is only peak power so thats the max, if i remember right thats whats in my car but im not using the factory system. and if you dont mind me asking were you from in ohio ?
Thanks for the quick response man! Im out east of Columbus, towards Newark. I'll give those a shot & post back after I work them out. Any other ideas are welcome
Densetsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 08:03 AM   #165 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joisy
Posts: 88


Car 1: 94 Accord, Prelude, Legend
Car 2: 03 MDX
Car 3: 08 RX350


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
crutchfield has a pretty good reference list of what fits and whats best for your car. check them out.

NO I dont work for crutchfield.
d1jinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Shop Talk > Audio, Video, & Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© AutoGuide