JDM engine-tranny swap - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995) > Engine & Performance Modifications

Engine & Performance Modifications Discuss Engine and performance modifications from intake to suspension to rotors to etc. :)

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-03, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,357


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan (SOLD)
Car 2: 91 240sx 5spd Hatch
Car 3: 99 VR4


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
JDM engine-tranny swap

What is required to do the swap? is it direct bolt in? Also what is the advantage of the JDM engine/tranny over USDM? (I have a 92 LS sedan type I, with 180k mi if this makes any difference) Should I go for this or just do a type II swap?
joeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-03, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Up in the top right of the screen is the search Function (use it), there are countless threads about engine swaps.
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-03, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
Welcome aboard. If you do use the search you will find MANY articles/threads regarding this subject. I personally did the type ii swap and it made a world of difference. THe JDM motor is less hp than the Type II, so that is where my money's at.

Check these threads for more
https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...ht=engine+swap

https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...ht=engine+swap

https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...ht=engine+swap

https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...ht=engine+swap

https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...ht=engine+swap
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-30-03, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 573


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
jdm !

Ahhh the JDM type 2 might have less hp than the USDM type 2 but if you go with the JDM type 1 engine than you get 15 extra hp and the same amount or more torque than a USDM type 1 i beleive so seeing that the legend engine's lack torque then my choice would be a JDM type 1 but then again i dont think i would ever get a JDM engine cause you never really know how many miles and ect. are on the JDM engine or tranny so unless you have a GOOD hook up its kinda hard to tel for sure !
Rmuzik411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-03, 11:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,357


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan (SOLD)
Car 2: 91 240sx 5spd Hatch
Car 3: 99 VR4


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
What if you put type II heads on a JDM?
joeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 12:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
The heads are what make the power difference, in theory you'd have a type 2 motor if you have the type 2 heads. There may be some minor differences but not enough to notice.
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 01:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 573


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
dethred is right the major differences in the type I vs. type II engines are in the top end of the engine the bottom end is the same for the type I and type II engines and the other differences are the vaccume connections but that requires minor work ... at one point i debated on doing the type II head swap on my type I but i decided not to because i dont want to loose torque and i feel that i dont really need high end power just more low end and with the type II swap i wouldent get that i would loose it ...... thats why i think it would be a good idea to just get a jdm type I engine but again just my opinion !
Rmuzik411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Well, I would find some Type 2 heads/manifold. Do that and get the right ecu with a Bayou chip and you have made up for the 3 ft/lb of torque with almost ten more. If you have the dough, go with a Type 2 head/manifold set up and work with that.
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 01:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
Trust me, 4lbs/tq is not that bad. Do a search....you may feel a difference from the Type I of course, but the Type II is no joke. Besides, that is a lot more work to do...and if you are not mechanically inclined, it is going to cost you...I know alot of folks on here seem to not have that kind of disposable income to do that kind of thing. No insult intended, just want you to weigh your options
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews


When I drove a type 2 I was amazed at what a measley 30hp can do with no torque gain.
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 11:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,357


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan (SOLD)
Car 2: 91 240sx 5spd Hatch
Car 3: 99 VR4


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I thought there were other differences w/ type I & II. Didn't somebody say one has 2 water pump outlets along with other minor changes?
joeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 12:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,264


iTrader Score: 2 reviews
this should be helpful.


http://www.2slik4u.com/type2swap.htm
Dethred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 02:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wha*ever ** *akes
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 2,545


Car 1: 2006 Nissan Titan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 95legend
the torque mainly comes from the block, am i correct on that? if so, why would the engine lose any torque? but if i am incorrect, you wont notice the 3-5ft/lb torque loss. if i wanted to make my legend faster instead of a show car, id definitely do this instead of getting a whole new type II engine.
95legend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,357


Car 1: 92 LS Sedan (SOLD)
Car 2: 91 240sx 5spd Hatch
Car 3: 99 VR4


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally posted by 95legend
the torque mainly comes from the block, am i correct on that? if so, why would the engine lose any torque? but if i am incorrect, you wont notice the 3-5ft/lb torque loss. if i wanted to make my legend faster instead of a show car, id definitely do this instead of getting a whole new type II engine.
Dethred, thanks for the link!! Good info there.

95Legend,
I believe the torque /hp trade-off is directly related to the OVERHEAD cam profile (valve timing, duration, and overlap.) The onlyother factor might be the actual SIZE of the valves (but it seems they might be the same as type 1's) Anyway it is all in the heads and strictly has to do with how long and when the valves open and closed. The flow of the intake port also plays a factor in this. Another way to trade HP for torque is to change the amount of backpresseure/ scavenging (size) of your exhaust

Most things you would do to the BOTTOM end of your engine will affect torque/ horsepower together, not oppositely. i.e bigger pistons, higher compression etc...

Here is a good link to learn more:Horsepower vs. Torque

Did you know that in EVERY engine HP = Torque @ 5250 RPM?
joeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 09:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 72


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
how come on Acura 3.2 TLs 1996-1998 they left type 1 engine and didnt go with the type 2?
Lenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995) > Engine & Performance Modifications


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© AutoGuide