Can I drop a six speed in my car - The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum
Acura Legend Forum Acura Legend Forum
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995) > Engine & Performance Modifications

Engine & Performance Modifications Discuss Engine and performance modifications from intake to suspension to rotors to etc. :)

Acura-Legend.com is the premier Acura Legend Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-03, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Can I drop a six speed in my car

Kristal is a 1992 2dr 5spd and I was wondering if could drop a six speed in her with the original engine or do i have to buy a typeII engine in order to put the six speed in. Also what is the difference between the type II and the TypeI? What gives the Type II an extra 40 horses
Legendperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-03, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Yg
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lakewood WA
Posts: 1,707


Car 1: 1991 Black Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stratoknight Send a message via Yahoo to Stratoknight
Yes you can drop in a six speed

https://www.acura-legend.com/vbulleti...een+legend+bmw
Stratoknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-03, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
'hood Garage
Arcanoid Champion, Crab Ball Champion, Hail Mary Champion, Indian Shikar Champion, Jungle Monkey Champion
 
hotlavaflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cough up a lung, where I'm from, Bklyn son
Posts: 3,157


Car 1: '91 Twin Turbo 5/6 spd Panda/Type C
Car 2: KA24DE-T S13


iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to hotlavaflow
absolutely can be done
__________________

AEM powered Twin Turbo KA7 since Feb'07
Sept'10 Reconstruction begins
hotlavaflow is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-11-03, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
DOES IT BOLT RIGHT ON. AND HOW MUCH PERFORMANCE DOES IT ADD
Legendperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-03, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Yg
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lakewood WA
Posts: 1,707


Car 1: 1991 Black Sedan


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Stratoknight Send a message via Yahoo to Stratoknight
It should bolt right on.

I dont see too much of a difference

5-speed Manual 1991-1995 Sedan 2.937 1.692 1.060 0.769 0.581 4.491
6-speed Manual 1993-1995 Coupe 2.937 1.692 1.151 0.868 0.682 0.521 4.491

The gearing is very very similar for the first few gears. The last few gears might be useful though.... Someone who knows this kinda stuff will probably prove me wrong

Edit - Dv8 posted a very intersting remark that you might want to look into.

Last edited by Stratoknight; 01-12-03 at 04:13 AM.
Stratoknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-03, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
this is not a plug n play...that legend has never shown proof that it is a 6 speed....so calling BS on that...why?

well, if I remember correctly -
* the Type I/5 spd has a single flywheel setup, the Type II/6 speed has a dual balanced flywheel setup. How would the 6 speed just drop right in? I would imagine that this transmission need be compatible.
* new ECU required [1 of 4]
* reverse lockout wiring would need to be done

Now, if you wanted to experiment to make it work, its one thing, but to seriously enjoy the novelty of it being a 6 speed, you will want the other engine...it does make a difference.

As far as performance goes, to get that acceleration requires both parts of the puzzle. NOW, if you do a COMPLETE swap then you will have the joys of a 6 speed...but be warned, if you do this, make sure that this is the car you want to keep....I am sure LPB will tell you...insurance will disown you in an accident/resale value will be lower since the car has been modified.
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-03, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey Leon,

I dont see why you would need a new ECU if your doing a 5-speed to 6-speed swap. I do not think the ECU really monitors anything different with the tranny's. Am I wrong?
Legendary91L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 12:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
Quote:
Originally posted by Legendary91L
Hey Leon,

I dont see why you would need a new ECU if your doing a 5-speed to 6-speed swap. I do not think the ECU really monitors anything different with the tranny's. Am I wrong?
what about the Type I motor and the Type II motor?

It will run, but I wouldn't think it would be optimal....if I remember right, they have different part numbers too.
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 12:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Ah, I get what your saying Leon...I was still on the thinking path that the guy wanted to put a 6-speed in his Type-I motor. Sorry...but yes, you are right. If you put the 6-speed and Type-II motor in your car, definitely wanna run the right ECU.
Legendary91L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 01:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
Quote:
Originally posted by Legendary91L
Ah, I get what your saying Leon...I was still on the thinking path that the guy wanted to put a 6-speed in his Type-I motor. Sorry...but yes, you are right. If you put the 6-speed and Type-II motor in your car, definitely wanna run the right ECU.
ok cool...it's all good man. That's why communication is important...wouldn't want him to do a swap based on a photoshopped car with a bs tranny swap...funny how you never see anything about that car...I am a show me person...when I drive it, see it from top and bottom, then maybe I will beleive it...but that is custom work regardless...might as well do it right the first time.

OT-
Pat, let me have your car.
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 05:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
THANX

MAN I AM GLAD I ASK SOMEONE. NOW IF I GET THE TYPE II MOTOR WITH THE TYPE II ECU AND THE SIX SPEED TANNY I WILL GET ALL OF THE PERFORMANCE I WANT RIGHT. HERES THE REAL QUESTION IS IT WORTH IT? I CAN GET THE MOTOR WITH 42000 MILE ON IT FOR $800.00 AND THE TRANNY WITH THE SAME MILES FOR $700.00 AND THE ISTILATION IS FREE BECUASE MY COUSINE IS A HONDA GOOROO AND IS GOING TO ISTALL IT IN HIS SHOP IN CALI. I DONT KNOW WHAT THE ECU IS GOING TO COST BUT I COULD PROBABLY GET A USED ONE FOR CHEAP.
Legendperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 01:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 891


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Aside from the ALL CAPS i'm with him on this... I want to know the response to his question.. If I get the type II motor and 6-spd tranny, what other specific parts are required as far as wiring harnesses and that sort of thing? I searched previous threads and DV8 mentioned something about a engine harness that needs to be swapped from auto to manual(?)
What i'm basically trying to say is this: If i'm hanging over the engine bay of a type II 6-speed Legend, and i'm ready to tear into it, what would I need to rip out of a type II to get it to function properly in my type I? I know the ECU, clutch pedal setup, center console, instrument cluster, but what else? Are the driveshaft lengths different?
Also, given everything else is done properly, do I have to modify the instrument cluster harnesses on my type I?
Or is it by some miracle plug-and-play?

Bump!!!
Kasteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 05:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
502MotorSports.com
 
502 MotorSports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ATLVILLE
Posts: 9,321


Car 1: e39 540i | e28 533i [Euro]
Car 2: e60 530i | e46 330i
Car 3: S430


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 502 MotorSports Send a message via Yahoo to 502 MotorSports
I've answered this many times over...here is a summary

you need;
slave cylinder
clutch master cylinder
transmission w/ diff
type ii 6 speed ecu
6 speed cluster
ALL WIRING HARNESSES
reverse wiring lockout performed
type ii motor
a good friend that knows what they are doing or a lot of cheesE
502 MotorSports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 11:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
95Legend6Spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,762


Car 1: Godzilla:
Car 2: Tokyo
Car 3: Attack!


iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 95Legend6Spd
Ya said Cheese Leon!!! Ya Said Cheese!!! (Sorry, in a Project Pat mood... makin' that Chedda... Project's the best-a... heh)
__________________
| 1997 Toyota Supra 6-speed | Built 3.1L | Built Head | Getrag | 931WHP | 100% Stainless Hardlined Engine |

| Previous: 1995 Legend Coupe, 6-Speed 1998-2002 |
95Legend6Spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-03, 09:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
B+O
I'van der Rohe
Towers of Hanoi Champion
 
B+O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: VSC S 。Mod
Posts: 12,824


Car 1: why?


iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to B+O
Quote:
Originally posted by 95Legend6Spd
Ya said Cheese Leon!!! Ya Said Cheese!!! (Sorry, in a Project Pat mood... makin' that Chedda... Project's the best-a... heh)

hahahahahaaaa

yeah its need a Clutch slave cylinder clutch master cylinder Pedals, (if you want) new gauge cluster, Or just the surround, the shift lever apparatus. IM NOT sure about the legend having a twin flywheel though...i have read everywhere that its a single disc for both trans', only CLutch masters has the Dual Disc setup for both Type I and Type II.
B+O is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  The Acura Legend & Acura RL Forum > Acura Legend > Second Generation Legend (1991-1995) > Engine & Performance Modifications


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© AutoGuide